I Am an Alphabet Blogger

I am an Aries

I’m looking for writing inspiration today, so I’ve decided I’m going to alphabet blog. A seems like a very good place to start, especially because I am an Aries.

Today’s Astrology.Com Aries horoscope is unfortunately right on target.

“You’re not feeling totally comfortable with today’s big activities, but that doesn’t mean you get to walk away from them. In fact, if you do your best, you should find that things start to get a lot better really soon.”

I am, in fact, working on several big activities for ASCD’s upcoming Annual Conference in March. I’ve stared at our program book so much over the last four months I want to run screaming from it. As the content and editing manager, I’m rewriting copy and working with our production and creative team to ensure that our spreads are telling the story we want to tell; I’m trying to send out all of our concurrent speaker room notification letters manually because our databases still aren’t 100% functional and the alternative is scary; and my Sunday music group just emailed to tell me they can’t make their scheduled performance. Here’s another A word for you…awesome #sigh.

Last night’s #SOTU has really provided a delightful distraction. Especially because President Obama talked a lot about education. I can technically say it’s research for work. But I shouldn’t do that, because if I do take the time to just slog through these “big” tasks, they’ll become things of the past and completely finished on my to-do list.

As an Aries, per the good folks at Aol My Daily, my biggest personality weakness as defined by my astrology sign is not finishing what I start. Which can be true. Procrastination is in my core make-up, and I constantly struggle against it. As I’ve matured, I’ve really made it a priority to manage my time and schedule, and not try to bring the party or project completely together at the last minute. Given that I’ve been working as a successful program manager for that last six years, one says I’m successfully combating my primal urge. Even if it feels terribly awkward to do so.

I am an Aries, but I am not completely defined by an astrology symbol. I try not to let my weaknesses overcome my strengths, because balance is essential for keeping me employed and contributing the highest level possible of excellence.

I am  many  things. I am also an achiever, an awesome person, and an Ausiello Addict. And that’s just some of the A’s.

The Full Aries Personality Description per AOL My Daily:

Aries live life head first; after all, those horns on your head are not just for fighting. Your headstrong nature can make you a “battering ram” and woe is the person who stands in your way.

Aries are noted for courage and leadership qualities, primarily because you are nearly always ready for action. The need for excitement pushes you into new territory — and as long as you are ahead of others while demonstrating confidence, chances are that they will follow you. As self-ordained leader of the pack, Aries fight for what you believe to be important. But it’s not that Aries are fearless. Your courage is more of a commitment to face your fears and overcome them.

Aries motto is “Ready, fire, aim!” It may be backwards for others, but you’d rather figure out what to do while you are doing it. Impulsive actions, however, can bring you your share of trouble. While others are gathering information to make informed decisions, you are already on your way. As such, you could suffer from false starts. In fact, you Aries are so good at starting things that you can be off onto your next project before completing the previous one. As you Aries mature, you learn to slow down your reaction time in order to think about the consequences of your actions.

One thought on “I Am an Alphabet Blogger

  1. I hear you on the overwhelmed nature of the moment. The next two months will consist of some ecstasy and agony as I navigate some serious deadlines. The ASCD conference is the end of the marathon for me. If you’re a frosty beverage lover, I’ll save you the barstool next to mine.

Leave a Reply

